Trucks and Ice Cream

Today I got to drive the farm truck! This was actually pretty exciting for me, because I’ve never driven a truck before, so it was a new experience. It’s a pretty old truck, with not so great breaks and not so great shocks. But one thing I do like about it is how easy it is to back up. It is bulky which makes it difficult, and I don’t know if it’s like this for all trucks, but I just looked behind me and the whole path was clear. The windows is so big and open, and because there’s no trunk, just the open truck bed, it was so flat and easy to just look out. I really enjoyed that aspect. I also got to drive a minivan today, which was interesting as well. It’s probably because I had just gotten done driving the truck, but the minivan just seemed to drive so smoothly! I was just coasting along the roads, instead of bumping along like the truck.

Speaking of trucks, yesterday we also borrowed another worker’s truck, which also happens to be old. I didn’t drive it, but one thing I found amusing and strange about his truck is that both his speedometer and gas indicator are broken. So when you drive, you don’t know how fast you’re going! It was so weird. We were just driving along, thinking we could go faster, but not wanting to push it. And we wondered how he knew how much gas he still had in the tank. It was quite an experience, and I’m not sure it’s totally legal. We were joking that if we got pulled over for speeding and the officer asked: Do you know how fast you were going? It’s like, no, actually we have no idea. I’m not sure why it hasn’t been fixed, but apparently it seems to work for the guy.

Anyways, you’re probably wondering where I drove this truck to, and the answer is in the title. I drove it to the local ice cream shop! Apparently they had a freezer go down, and they weren’t going to be able to fix it in time to save the ice cream, so we were taking it off their hands. And there was a lot of ice cream. No, we did not eat it all. Yes, I have more ice cream and flavors than I could ever need. It’s crazy how much ice cream is in our freezer even now. But what we actually did with most of our ice cream was feed it to the pigs. Wait, what? Not that we were wasting ice cream on pigs, but they actually like it! I had no idea you could feed pigs ice cream, and honestly, it wouldn’t have even crossed my mind. Normally we feed them things like vegetables and eggs, but apparently ice cream is fine too. As we tossed out gallon after gallon of ice cream, we watched them wander over and eat it. There was too much to eat all at one time, so there’s still a lot out there. It’s like giant ice blocks of ice cream, just melting in the field. The pigs definitely had a party, and we did too. It was fun throwing ice cream out to the pigs, and it was crazy how much we gave them. There was at least fifty gallons. And that was only half. They get the other half in a few weeks. It’s so crazy, but I’m excited for next time! I’m sure the pigs are too!

Leave a Reply

