There’s No Place Like Home

There’s no place like home. I can’t even describe how much I miss my home right now. I’m only three weeks into this thing and I”m like, I miss everything about my home. And part of the reason I decided to come here was because I knew it was for a limited amount of time. Only about 7 months, but then I realize that I’ve only been here 3 weeks, and I wonder what I was thinking.

To be honest, I actually missed home as soon as I drove away and we were in a different state. I missed my home and my family from day one. And while I do enjoy my experience here, I wonder how bad I want to go home. Recently I’ve had some experiences though that have made me feel better, or maybe miss my home even more.

To begin with, I’ve been craving peaches since I got here. In Georgia, there are already peaches. Here, they have little things they call peaches, but look terrible. A couple of days ago I visited a new grocery store and found that they had some ‘Eastern Peaches’ on sale. They looked bigger than the ones I’d seen previously, but still not too great. I knew I was going to buy some though. When I began to actually pick out my peaches, I saw a lady putting out fresh peaches, and she had the original boxes they came in on a cart with her. In big letters it read ‘Georgia Peaches’. I knew I was going to buy some originally, but when I saw that it made me smile and just enjoy my purchase that much more. And honestly, it brought tears to my eyes. I couldn’t help but think, I miss my home, and I’m so glad these peaches are from Georgia.

The next day, I was working on the farm, where we have a little bed and breakfast. The people staying at the inn were asking where to throw their trash, and me and a fellow apprentice offered to take it out for them. I got to take the recycling, so while the lady bagged it up, I briefly spoke to her. She asked me a little bit about working here, and then asked where I was from. I said Georgia, and she exclaimed, “Us too!” We found out where in Georgia and realized we were from a similar location, and it just made me feel so good to talk to her and find someone from home. It made me realize even more how much I miss my home, and while this is fun and definitely a new experience, it’s so different from home, and right now, seven months seems like forever.

Leave a Reply

