North vs South

As y’all know, I’m from Georgia. As you can expect, New Hampshire is very different from Georgia.

To begin with, let’s just start with the weather! My initial thought coming up here was: thank goodness I”m not staying for the winter. This isn’t entirely true. I’ll be here for the beginning of the winter, but then I”m high-tailing it out of here. My second thought was: at least it’ll be cooler in the summer. And this is true. I got here in mid-May, and back home it was pushing 90. Here is fluctuates a lot more. One day can be cold and rainy, around 50, but the next day can be hot and sunny, in the mid-80s. I think the general idea is mid-70s with a breeze, and on those days it is nice to be here. But when it’s in the mid-80s and you’re outside all day, it’s still hot. That being said, my apartment doesn’t have A/C. Which isn’t really a problem here, surprisingly. It does have heat, but all my roommates are from this weather, so while at night I sleep under 3 blankets, they are perfectly comfortable without the heat on. This concerns me a little bit, because it’s only May/June. And I”m already freezing. We had two rainy days in the 50s, and I was like, whoa, am I in winter? What am I going to do in the fall? I heard it gets cold fast here, and that’s alarming. I also miss afternoon thunderstorms. That happens all the time in Georgia, but not really here. We’ve had a couple of super short thunderstorms in the afternoon, but one day I looked at the weather at home and there were thunderstorms every single day, while here it was just rain every now and then.

Another thing I find semi-amusing is that Northerners think that all Southern people have an accent. Well, it’s not true. Yes, some people have accents, but it really depends on where you’re from. When you’re from a city, you typically don’t have one. Whenever I meet people from up North someone always remarks, “I really thought you would have an accent.” And it’s not just me. My friends who went to college up north said they got the same thing. However, I’ve started to speak a little more Southern recently, and I’m wondering if that’s my way of coping with not being at home or even in the South. I’ve always said y’all, but now more of my phrases are becoming Southern. My roommates make fun of me, but hey, I like Southern accents. I wish I had one, but I’m not going to try to fake it.

The last thing I would like to remark upon is something I’ve always heard, that up north it’s a little more fast-paced. I’m not sure if this is true or not, but I have found that here, I’m the slowest one. I’m not sure why but when I’m doing chores or even just walking I always seem to take forever or lag behind the rest of the group. I have to almost run to keep up with my coworkers, and it’s like, do I walk that slow? Maybe I just move slowly, but I never really felt that way and it never seemed so obvious until I got here. We’ll see if I get any quicker, but for now, I’ll keep going my slow pace. I think that’s going to be a complaint on my review – moves too slowly! But I’m trying. Most of the time it’s not like I’m dilly-dallying. It just seems to take me so much longer. On the other hand, everyone else has been here longer than me, but I’m not sure even if I did start here first would I be the fastest. It might just be me, and not a north vs south difference, but it does fit with the stereotype!

Leave a Reply

