New People, New Places

I’ve been in New Hampshire for two months now. A lot has happened, and it’s crazy to think back. I’ve enjoyed my time here, but I still miss home every day. I still wish I was at home, with my friends and family. But I really can’t complain too much about being here. One of my biggest complaints is that it’s too far away.

I’m not sure how I ended up here either. If you know me, you’d know that I’m kind of shy. I don’t really like being in unfamiliar territory, meeting unfamiliar people. Especially alone. I was glad that when I came here my dad came with me. It was nice to have one thing from home, a constant at my back. But as soon as I dropped him off at the airport, the tears came. I didn’t want him to go. I didn’t want to feel abandoned in this place, even though I know it was my own choice. I’m kind of a homebody. I love my home, and I love the south. As I’ve mentioned, I only came here because I knew it was short-term.

As the months pass by, it feels like I’ve been here forever. Two months doesn’t seem like very long though. I’m not even halfway through my stay. I think that part of my anxiety is coming from the fact of, I don’t know when I’m going home. There’s no set end date, no date for me to write on my calendar and count down to. There’s just a general time, and I’m not sure if I like that. When I talk to my mom, she wants me to come home sooner versus later. I don’t necessarily want to be the first one to leave here, and I don’t want to leave before the agreed upon time, but I guess I just want to know. As the summer starts to roll by, I miss home even more. I enjoy the cooler days up here, but I miss simple things like air conditioning. Apparently that’s not too common here. There is an apple orchard nearby, and they are supposed to have peaches. They don’t. Their crop didn’t turn out this year or something. This was the year I was supposed to go to an apple orchard back home and get some peaches. My parents are going this weekend, and I wish so badly I could go with them. I don’t want to wait another year. Everything that I wanted to do this summer, I wish I could be doing now.

Leave a Reply

