When a Story Takes Off

When I was little, I wanted to be an artist. Well, I quickly realized that I couldn’t draw or paint, and I’m not very good at crafts, though I wish I was. I dabbled in stories and writing in my childhood, but I didn’t start truly writing until really my sophomore year of high school. That was a big turning point for me, and the next big milestone came senior year when I participated in NaNoWriMo for the first time. 

As I flip back through my things from elementary school, I look at the page that says ‘When I grow up I want to be a(n): artist. As I look at this, I realize that I am, though not in the way I meant back then. I say I’m not creative, but I’ve always enjoyed stories and love writing and imagining them. So maybe I’m a little more creative then I give myself credit for. And maybe my childhood dreams have come true. It may never be my full-time profession, but I write because I like to. I don’t care if no one ever reads it or if no one else likes it. My stories are for myself.

One of the favorite parts of my writing is when the story gets a mind of it’s own. I can have something planned out and ready to go, but as the story progresses my characters fight me and lead me on their own path. And that’s fun. It’s fun to write and see where the story takes you. I’m a planner – I like to plan my stories and characters and have a loose outline of what I want to do. But it doesn’t mean that everything makes its way into the story, or that it’s a set story. If my story decides to run off on it’s own, normally I let it. I want to experience this story just like when I read a book. What’s going to happen next? I don’t know. But whatever it is, it’s always fun to find out!

Leave a Reply

