Time For Resolve

One of the goals I stated for this year was to have a little more direction in my blogging. And though the beginning of this year arguably started out pretty good – I met my weekly blog post goal – the content was wearing thin.

As I pondered what to write about each week, I started to notice a pattern. I had no idea what to write about, and definitely nothing that fit into any of my categories. It was just more miscellaneous posts. And as I reflected this, I realized that it was a similar position to where I was in my life.

It’s hard to believe it’s been 4 months since I left the farm. That means I’ve been doing nothing for four months. It didn’t dawn on me until after the holidays and things calmed down. Then reality hit and it was this – there was literally nothing happening in my life. I was unemployed, wasting each day away. Sure I made commitments and kept them, things such as blogging more or looking for jobs. But it felt like a barrier. Everything was loosely pieced together, dependent on one thing.

I began making real commitments to myself, commitments that would jump-start my life again. It was no longer good enough to go through the motions. I added a section on my blog about fitness. It’s something that’s important to me, so why was I hesitating? And then, just when I started working hard to put the plan in motion, we had company come visit, and it blew me off track. Excuses, I know. But as they left, a lot of that initial excitement I felt was gone too. And then suddenly things changed.

The actions I had put into motion with my resolve came back to me, and I was in a whirlwind of excitement. It was almost too much, but I couldn’t complain. Suddenly phase one of my plan was complete, giving me the motivation to keep going. And though it was a crazy week, I have a chance to relax this week. If everything goes well, next week is going to get crazy again as phase two begins, but for now I can take a step back, breathe, and enjoy where I’m at.

Leave a Reply

