Jumping Back Into Fitness

Growing up, my family always placed an emphasis on being active, and as a result, I played a bunch of different sports until I decided which one I wanted to focus on. At around age 10 I made my decision – I wanted to swim. As a result, I joined a local club team in addition to my summer league team. I started getting better and though I was never in the top of the club, I was in the top of my summer league, and eventually the top of my high school team. 

Once I went to college I joined the club swim team, mostly to stay in shape. I didn’t care about competing or traveling to meets. I went for the exercise, and especially the first year, it wasn’t a lot. The difference between the number of club practices and length of the club practices differed dramatically from what I was used to, and I could feel myself getting slower. It didn’t matter though; it was still a form of physical activity.

After college, I went to the farm. New Hampshire has a very different swim scene compared to Georgia, and therefore I didn’t swim there at all. But at the same time, I didn’t need to. Doing chores, being outdoors and moving around, lifting grain buckets, it was all enough to keep me in shape. I didn’t have to worry about trying to do my own fitness. I just enjoyed my work and the fitness was a bonus.

Now that I’m back home, I’m back to square one. Joining a club team to swim is quite expensive, and joining a gym isn’t cheap either. I’ve definitely lost muscle I had built on the farm, and knowing I couldn’t just not do anything, I’ve been trying my best to come up with a fitness plan. Of course, some days (erm, weeks) are better than others. But I’m trying, and every time I do something, even if it’s just a short walk, I count it as a win.

2 thoughts on “Jumping Back Into Fitness

  1. lexilife February 29, 2016 / 3:57 pm

    I hate how expensive everything is now. But I look at it as a lifestyle expense, just like heating and the central heating! …I think it helps me deal with the £££££ I’m giving away! Great post and interesting insight to your life x

    http://www.lexilife95.wordpress.com

    Like

    • eseifried3 February 29, 2016 / 4:42 pm

      That’s a great way to look at it! And if I’m going to be paying that much to have access, it’s just more motivation to actually go. Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

