Adjusting To a ‘Real’ Job

It’s been a few weeks since I started a new job, and honestly, it’s been a rough couple of weeks. It’s also what I consider my first job, or at least first ‘real’ job, so it’s definitely been an adjustment.

Last year at this time I was still in college, excited about my upcoming graduation. I was already set up to go work on the farm, so I didn’t have anything to worry about except passing my classes. Life was good, and I was excited to start the next chapter of my life.

Well, now it’s been almost a year since I graduated. I’ve been to the farm and back. I’ve worked a part-time job while struggling to find a full-time job. And now that I’ve finally found one, I’ve been struggling to adjust the reality of working full time.

So far the new job is going well. I’m slowing starting to transition from learning how to actually having responsibilities and doing my job. I’ve learned a lot, and I’m excited to keep learning, about my job, about the company, about the industry.

The main problem with a full-time job, however, is the time. I know it’s different at different companies, but I work an 8-hour day and have an hour lunch, so it’s really 9 hours. It’s long. It’s so long. I wake up in the morning and go to work, and when I come home I have time to eat dinner, exercise, shower, and go back to sleep.

Ok, so I have a little time between all that stuff, but an hour, two, max. It’s making good use of this time that’s the challenge. I tell myself to go to bed earlier. I tell myself to write more. I tell myself to read more. I tell myself to be more productive, maximize my hour, but so far it’s been hard. I spend a lot of time trying to gather my thoughts, thinking about what I want to do and what I have time to do.

And once I fall behind or aren’t as productive as I’d like to be, I stress myself out, and then all the time I do have is spent worry about everything I haven’t done, trying to figure out the best way to get it all done. It’s been a struggle to adjust to everything, and then I think about how I will probably be working full-time for the rest of my life. And that stresses me out even more.

These past few weeks have been a huge adjustment, but I’d like to think I’m making progress. I’m trying to stress less and do more. I’m trying to forgive myself if I don’t accomplish everything I’d hoped. It’s ok to take a deep breath and do something not on my list to help clear my head. One of these days I’ll figure it out, but for now I’ll keep struggling, learning how to manage my free time and adjusting to the working world.

Leave a Reply

