Fall Festivals

As fall approaches, so does festival and fair season! It seems like for the next two months, there’s an endless amount of fairs to go to. There’s pretty much at least one each weekend, and though I know I’m not going to be able to go to every one, I’d like to go to a lot.

I ended up going to my first festival of the season this weekend, which was a local book festival. It was perfect. Just what I needed. I met up with a friend and we walked the streets, passing vendor after vendor, some there selling books, others promoting different publishers or agencies, there was ever a food section showing off local products. The best part? They had different authors there speaking about different topics.

My friend and I had time to go to two different panels, and not knowing any of the speakers, we randomly picked two. We weren’t really sure what to expect, and as we made our way into the first panel, I was surprised at how many people were in there. The panelists started speaking, and I enjoyed it a lot! It was a Q and A sessions about changing ideas, and though it was a serious topic, there was humor as well, and the conversation stayed light and open.

The second panel we went to was more of a book reading, the author telling us about his book, a biography, and reading passages from it. The author was highly animated and engaging, sharing his inspiration for the book and telling us about the process. The passages he picked to read were highlights from the book, giving the audience insight to the tone of the book as well as some of the typical scenes you’d find in it.

Although the panels were fun, I think it was the atmosphere of the festival as a whole that I really enjoyed. It was amazing to be surrounded by so many books, by so many authors, both established and aspiring. Seeing so many people out, interested in books, interested in writing, it really made me feel good about my passion. It’s inspired me to keep writing. Because I hope that one day I can be there too, on the other side, promoting my own material and following my own dreams.

Leave a Reply

