The Magic of Books

Growing up, I loved to read. In school, you’d never catch me without a book. And I’m not just talking about the mandatory books you have to read for English. I was always carrying around a book for pleasure reading, balanced precariously on top of all my other books as I traveled from class to class. It was always something I looked forward to as I found time in the school day to squeeze in a few pages of a good book. 

When I went to college, that flame dulled. I was suddenly so busy do other things that I stopped reading, and with that I accumulated a huge list of books to read. I even got a book for Christmas almost three years ago that I never read. And I felt so bad because my friend bought it for me and kept asking me about it! Then came the farm, where I was in the middle of nowhere. Which sounds like a great time to read, but with the long working days, I mostly just slept and tried to write.

When I came back from the farm and got a real job, I was annoyed at the mandatory lunch hour (an hour lunch is great, but going home an hour earlier is nice too), but I soon realized that it was the perfect time to start reading again! Now ever since I started my new job, I’ve been checking books off my list! That book I got for Christmas? Read. It was so good. I have no idea why it took me so long to read it.

But it’s not just that. Recently I’ve read two books that have been amazing, for very different reasons. The first was just a young adult, fiction novel. But the raw emotion in it was so powerful, I was blown away. I found myself identifying so much with the main character; I could picture myself in his shoes. All his hopes, all his pain, I was in tears as I read it. It just resonated with me so well.

The next book was amazing in a different away. This one was a fantasy book, set in a different place, with not so normal characters. But it was amazing too. It was a great escape from the real world, and I could not put the book down. I just had to keep reading. It was one of the few times where I complained that my lunch break wasn’t long enough. I had to keep reading, keep flipping the page. I had to know what happened next.

That’s when I realized one thing I’ve been missing the past few years – the simple magic of a good book. Whether it’s a book that takes you on a journey, or even just a book that you relate to amazingly well, it’s magic. Reading is so much fun, and I’m so glad that I have my one hour lunch break to dedicate to reading. There’s nothing like a good book to cheer you up and stir your imagination.

Leave a Reply

