November 2016: After

This November has been interesting, to say the least. As I mentioned, I decided to finish a story for Nano that has been in the works, since, well, last November. And while I read it before-hand and knew where I want it to go, it didn’t quite go that way.

For starters, I’ve been working on editing a different story, and it’s in a different tense than my Nano novel. I didn’t think it would matter that much, but apparently my brain doesn’t work that way. I can only stay in one tense at a time. It was like watching a train wreck as I typed. I kept having to go back, fix the tense, and everything sounded really awkward. Eventually I managed to get my bearings, and my writing picked up. But that wasn’t all.

Halfway through, I realized that at some point, my plot had died. There was nothing left. My main character was giving a monologue, and it wasn’t even a great monologue. I had planned on writing a sort of sequel type thing if I finished the story before I hit 50,000 words, but seeing the major fail that was the prequel, I realized that would be stupid. It needed more work and plotting that I had given it, and I wasn’t going to let it fall just like the first one. I was going to do my due diligence and plan it out.

So I switched gears and wrote a story line that plays out in my head fairly often. But as I just mentioned, I had no plot, no planning, and it bombed out quickly too. For those of you who have no plot, do no planning, and just write something, I commend you. That’s not me. At all. I couldn’t sit there and type something I wasn’t feeling, something that was only half fleshed out and I knew would be bad. Even if I am the only one who will ever read it. So I did something different.

I started writing certain scenes from that story. And it was fun. It made me enjoy Nano again. Instead of struggling to hit my word goal each day, I found myself staying up late to keep going. When it’s good, I get so caught up in writing. It’s no longer work to write. It’s fun, a way to get these things out of my head and onto the paper. And now, when I flesh out that story, I have scenes to weave in, things to think about. Or I can change them totally. It doesn’t matter what I do with them. As long as I continue to write because I enjoy it, I can do anything.

Leave a Reply

