Paperwhites

Even though I worked on a farm, I wouldn’t exactly say I have a green thumb. Actually, I don’t know if I have a green thumb, because I’ve never really grown anything before. Pretty much the only plant I’ve ever nurtured growing up is bamboo, and well, those are pretty hard to mess up. All you have to do is give it water. The only reason all my bamboo eventually passed away is because my cat liked to eat it.

Though I’ve never grown anything before, I’ve always wanted to. I’ve always been interested in the idea of having a garden. One of our family friends grows a garden every year, and she brings us these huge melons and greens every year. She makes it look so easy. And even though I’m not a big vegetable eater, I still think it would be cool to grow vegetables, whether the end result is me eating them or not.

This winter, my boss at work came in a with a plant. I watch it grow each day, and when I asked her about it, she told me they were paper whites. They seemed to just sprout up, growing taller each day, and eventually they bloomed.

So right around the holidays, when my mom and I went to Target and I saw a ‘Plant Your Own Paper White’ kit, I just had to buy it. I wasn’t sure if it would work, but it seemed simple enough, and the flowers were pretty.

I planted my paper white bulb about two weeks ago, and when it started, there was nothing. I followed instructions and kept it in the basement until the little green stalks started to appear, and then excitedly moved the plant up to my room by the window. Each day they grew a little taller, and soon I saw the plant ready to flower. I would look at my plant in the morning, and then come back from work and see how much it had grown. It seemed that it only took about 12 hours for the plant to grow another inch.

Yesterday, I got my first flower! In the morning I had two staring to bloom, and when I came back in the evening, those two had opened completely and more had started to bloom. It’s been awesome watching the growth and feeling so excited about something I grew. The only downside, it seems, is when I came home this evening the stalk fell over because the flowers were too heavy. I’m still deciding what to do to help my paper whites, but it’s been so exciting. In less than two weeks I went from nothing to a plant that is now more than a foot tall and blooming, and I’m excited to watch it continue to thrive.

It’s not quite a vegetable, but it’s a start, and it makes me excited to one day have my own garden.

img_2133
My paper whites this morning!
Leave a Reply

